CIRTL Courses Open for Registration

As a member institution of CIRTL, UB graduate students and postdocs can sign up for CIRTL Network offerings for free.

Additional information about UB CIRTL is available at

CIRTL Network

CIRTL’s spring 2017 cross-Network courses are open for registration now through January 22! All our courses have enrollment caps, so registration does not guarantee admittance. We’ll process registration based on a few factors, including first-come, first-serve, whether you’re from a CIRTL institution, and whether you’re in a STEM/SBE discipline. You’ll need an account on our website to register, and we’ll refer to the institution and discipline  listed in your profile to help determine your registration priority.

Students who register by Monday, December 19 (our early bird deadline) will be notified of their enrollment status by December 21. Students who register after the 19th will be notified of their enrollment status the week of January 23.

Spring 2017 cross-Network Courses

On Mondays from January 30 to April 3. Weekly online meetings at 11AM-12:30PM ET/10-11:30AM CT/9-11:30AM MT/8-9:30AM PT

Want to develop a Teaching-as-Research (TAR) project and be ready to implement in summer or fall? This course is designed to cover basic concepts, techniques, and procedures of conducting TAR in the undergraduate classroom. Students will develop a full TAR proposal and will be poised to conduct their research in the summer or fall of 2017. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 30 students.

Developing a Teaching Portfolio
On Tuesday, January 31 and March 21 at 3-5PM ET/2-4PM CT/1-3PM MT/12-2PM PT

Portfolios don’t just help you in the job search, they can help refine and advance your teaching in the classroom, too. In this class students will explore model teaching portfolios, write a personal philosophy of teaching, assemble evidence of their teaching, develop and present their own teaching portfolios, and use peer review rubrics to evaluate their own and peers’ portfolios. Prior teaching experience is helpful, but not required. The majority of this course takes place asynchronously, outside of the two sessions on January 31 and March 21. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 20 students.

The College Classroom
On Tuesdays from January 31 to April 18. Weekly online meetings at 11AM-12:20PM ET/10-11:20AMCT/9-10:20AM MT/8-9:20AM PT

Students will learn the basics of effective teaching as well as ideas at the forefront of college education, including digital approaches to teaching and learning. Students will explore their teaching philosophy, design a course curriculum, learn how to monitor and investigate the effectiveness of the learning environment, and learn what it means to create an inclusive classroom environment that engages all learners.  Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 30 students.

Diversity in the College Classroom
On Wednesdays from February 1 to March 29. Weekly online meetings at 12-1:30PM ET/11AM-12:30PM CT/10-11:30AM MT/9-10:30AM PT

The course is designed for STEM educators interested in considering diversity issues in college-level teaching. We will explore definitions of diversity, consider ways that instructor and student diversity and implicit biases can influence how we teach and learn, and work together to develop effective techniques and strategies for teaching inclusively. Students will create their own inclusive teaching plan and present it to the class at the end of the semester. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 32 students.

Basics of Online Learning and Teaching
On Thursday February 2, March 16, and April 6-20 at 1:30-3:00PM ET/12:30-2:00PM CT/11:30AM-1:00PM MT/10:30AM-12:00PM PT

This course is designed to help graduate students and postdocs new to teaching online learn how to design and run an effective course. From February 2 through April 20, students will attend 6 online sessions and, on weeks without sessions, students will complete assignments to help develop their own materials for a sample online course. At the end of the semester, students will present those materials to the class. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 30 students.

Research Mentor Training
On Thursdays from February 2 to April 20. Weekly online meetings at 3-4:15PM ET/2-3:15PM CT/1-2:15PM MT/12-1:15PM PT

In this seminar-style class, participants will work with a community of peers to develop and improve their mentoring skills. By the end of the seminar, participants should be able to clearly articulate a personal mentoring philosophy to anyone inside or outside their discipline, and describe multiple strategies for dealing with mentoring challenges. Available for 1 optional credit. Open to 25 students.

Service-Learning in STEM Classrooms: Introduction to Pedagogy and Practice 
On Tuesdays from February 7 to March 28. Weekly online meetings at 2-4PM ET/1-3PM CT/12-2PM MT/11AM-1PM PT

Service-learning is a high-impact pedagogy that engages students in applying what they are learning about in their class to a real-world community need or issue, and includes reflective activities to demonstrate and deepen the service and learning connections. This course will introduce best practices, research, and examples of the pedagogy, with a special focus on STEM disciplines. Not available for credit. Open to 20 students.

CIRTL Quick Links 

Upcoming Courses

CIRTL Website

Create an Account

Job Postings

Teaching and Learning Development Specialist, UC San Diego (Open until filled)

Post-Doctoral Position in Science Education Research, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Post-Doctoral Position, Center for Teaching and Learning, Georgia Tech

Faculty Position, Biology, Michigan State University (Deadline: 1/20/17)

To view job postings, or submit one of your own, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.