The purpose of the University of Buffalo’s AGSA is to further research and intellectual aims of

graduate students in anthropology and allied disciplines by the organization of symposia, lectures,

and seminars or current research and other aspects of anthropology and other interdisciplinary

studies.  It aims to: foster increased communication between graduate students and faculty in

anthropology and allied disciplines at this institution and institutions outside of the university;

to promote greater graduate student cohesion and communication and welcome new graduate

students to the Department of Anthropology, as well as recommend new approaches and engage

the study of present approaches in anthropology.


President: Brent Whitford

Vice President: Joseph Prego

Treasurer: Nicole Sanborn

Secretary: Rachael Elekes

GSA Director at Large: Keenan Phillips

Faculty Representative: Melanie Lacan

IEMA Representative: Heather Rosch